Friday, May 13, 2011

Zebbie Awards

I was at the Zebbie Awards last night in The Sugar Club.
The Zebbie's are the annual awards of the Irish Playwrights and Screenwriters Guild.
They award 5 prizes for the best writing across the different disciplines.

This year's awards were presented by Senator David Norris, who needs no introduction, and Gary Cooke, who is one third of the Apres Match team.  The Senator read the nominations in his own inimitable style and spoke in between before presenting each prize.  Gary Cooke's involvement was a little odd - he just said funny things in various different voices (Eamon Dunphy, Liam Brady, Joe Duffy, etc).  The funniest thing he said was a joke about sending a team of actual seals to hunt down Sean Fitzpatrick. 

I do wonder where all the women are in Irish writing - out of all the nominees, there were only 4 ladies.

Congratulations to all the winners!

Best script for a short film
The Crush by Michael Creagh, which was also nominated for an Oscar this year.

Best feature film script
100 mornings by Conor Horgan - post apocalyptic Ireland

Best TV script
Love/Hate by Stuart Carolan, who sported a lovely anorak.

Best radio script
A whistle in the dark by Tom Murphy *apparently written 50 years ago*

Best theatre script
Freefall by Michael West


Post a Comment